April 2024 – Practice Doesn’t Make Perfect

When  I am called upon to teach or mentor on the subject of “what I do” it is not always obvious that my sessions emerge from nearly 30 years of study and practice.  It looks effortless and it is easy to become impatient to apply this work for ourselves, families and clients.  Many of the techniques I like to share so that you can support your health, reduce stress and respond to sudden change represent a profound opportunity to reconnect you to your unique Blueprint of Health.   We are so conditioned in modern life to hand over the reins to our practitioners that it can be a challenge to practice taking care of ourselves. 

One of my teachers, Bob Shrei, puts it well:

There is the “10,000 hypothesis” which says it simply takes 10,000 hours of practice to learn anything well, be it running, tennis, an instrument or a language. Your particular chosen discipline–be it [Parenting, A Profession or Baking] – is no different. Time and dedication and discipline are necessary. The great jazz pianist Keith Jarrett still practices every day, basic simple scales and basic structured practice. Personally I have been engaged in some form of dowsing, which the scans are, for 40 years. I feel that it has taken at least 30 of those years to get to a place where I feel that I am relatively accurate 85% of the time.

In the end, if you are interested in energy work, it is a process of constantly working on and looking at yourself. The great osteopath, A.T Still, said that the human being is triune: Spirit, Body, and Mind. We need to be paying attention to all of these levels in ourselves as well as our clients. It is an exciting path and we are simply learning from each of our clients. I feel blessed to have the opportunity to be taught in this way.

We remain a team, you and I, as I am sure that all healing takes place in company and our capacity to heal expands to the degree we participate in relating to the body as an energetic structure to which we are bringing our intention for greater order to bear.  Think of our balance sessions like you think of your supplements, with the added advantage that energy therapy is always completely customized for your unique you.

Leave a comment